Map Request

For discussion on anything retrieving related - trialing, training equipment, news, etc.

Moderator: Peter Butterfield

Map Request

Postby Brian McMillan » Fri 05 Mar 2004 11:30 pm

Hi all;

Can anyone refer me to a website that would show a good map of Australia. My knowledge of Australia geography is very limited and I would like to know more about it. I know where Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne are, but I couldn't tell ya what state any of those cities are in. Anyone seen Mel Gibson's new movie yet? It's created quite a stir over here and is setting all kinds of attendence records. I haven't seen it yet, but plan to once all the crowds die down.

Thanks;
Brian
Brian McMillan

Good Maps of Australia

Postby Robert Tawton » Sat 06 Mar 2004 4:49 pm

Hi Brian,

As a retired engineer I must ask what is your specification for a "good Map of Australia"? :lol: Personally I have maps of Australia loaded into my computer. These were purchased from the Government Survey Office at the cost of $US 75.00 and they provide detail at the 1:250,000 level as well as occupying nearly 1GB on my hard drive! Using the Google search engine I entered Maps Australia and this produced an enormous amount of detail, which I suspect will meet your requirements.

BFN, RWT
Robert Tawton

Postby Jason Ferris » Mon 08 Mar 2004 9:24 am

Hi Brian

There is an excellent map of Australia with all major towns marked on it at the web site of one of our large motoring organisations: http://www.mynrma.com.au/travel/go/maps/maps_australia.shtml

It takes a while to load, but is a pdf and can be saved to your computer for later use.

There will be a geography test in two weeks :wink:

Cheers, Jason.
Jason Ferris
Board Admin

Postby Brian McMillan » Mon 08 Mar 2004 11:36 am

Thank you Bob and Jason: Bob, I had a little laugh, at my expense, at your post. me, not even knowing there are such maps as you possess. I surely don't need one at 75 dollars (US), or even 75 cents.